Good Friday

What language shall I borrow to thank Thee, dearest friend,
For this Thy dying sorrow, Thy pity without end?
O make me Thine forever, and should I fainting be,
Lord, let me never, never outlive my love to Thee.

 

Words: At­trib­ut­ed to // Ber­nard of Clair­vaux, 1153

Music: Pas­sion Chor­ale, // Hans L. Hass­ler, Lust­gar­ten neu­er teutsch­er Ge­säng, 1601; har­mo­ny by // Jo­hann S. Bach, 1729

 

//

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 07:52:25

    By far my favorite Passion chorale. Nothing else comes close. Played it as a meditation solo at the Good Friday service last night.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

