House Stuff and Earth Day Late

So things are moving apace regarding our little half-acre of Indiana  (note: if I have a half-acre now, will I be content with less in OR?  Answer: Yes. It’s OREGON, after all).  The sellers agreed to fix everything we asked but won’t spring for access to the crawl space under the master bed/bath addition, which I didn’t think they’d do anyway since it wasn’t an issue for them when they bought the house.  There is only about 5 – 10 inches between the ground and the concrete slab under the addition.  So now we are waiting for the rest of the repairs to be done and the assessor to go assess and we’ll be all set! 

The bank has agreed to loan us large sums of money so they can buy our house and we can pay them for the privelege of living there.

We may even have someone interested in moving into our apt here so that we are not stuck paying rent AND mortgage (here’s hoping!)

Last but not least, I’m reading an awesome book called Gaia’s Garden: A Guide to Home-Scale Permaculture, Second Ed. by Toby Hemenway (who, incidently, is an associate prof at MY old alma mater, Portland State University in God’s own country Oregon in the best city in the lower 48 Portland)

Gaia's Garden: A Guide to Home-Scale Permaculture

This fabulous book is energizing me and getting me sooo excited to have some land to mold into a living, creating green space.

And here are some fab quotes from the book itself in honor of Earth Day, which is every day, and which I was too lazy busy to post about on Thursday.

About 70 percent of the globe is blanketed by…[water]…but…The accessible fresh water in lakes, rivers, groundwater, and the atmosphere makes u ponly half of one-quarter of 3 percent–for non-Einsteins, that works out to 0.375 percent–of Earth’s total water.

The average, 2,000-square-foot, two-story house has over 1,000 square feet of roof…If that house is in a region receiving forty inches of rain a year,…the roof will collect 25,000 gallons of water each year, ….enough to keep a 1,000square foot garden watered for 250 days of drought.

(rain barrels for all!!!)

A single tree may have ten to thirty acres of leaf survce, all able to draw dust and pollutants from the air. (amazing!)

Happy Earth Day, everyone!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 01:15:07

    I’ve been thinking about getting a rain barrel set up when I get home. Do you know where my cousin lives in Colorado, it is illegal to collect rainwater like that? Something about the city owns the water, including rainwater run-off. It just seems insane to me.

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Apr 26, 2010 @ 14:17:09

    No more talk of Oregon ya hear? That’s not allowed! I’m so glad you’re loving Gaia’s. It’s my motivation to live in my own perfect little green space. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Apr 27, 2010 @ 23:59:31

    Also, have I mentioned that one of the things I love about you is that you are the only person in my life who has the elan (do I know what that means?) to use the word “apace” on a regular basis.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

