Back Home Again in Indiana!

Whew. Never thought I’d be living in Indiana again, which just goes to show you YOU JUST NEVER KNOW, DO YOU?

Despite the boxes that remained piles about hapazardly, I LOVE this yard house.  I promise I will post pics as soon as the clutter reaches a reasonable level but I LOVE this yard house a lot!  I’ve been busy planting unpacking every minute I get and the results are rewarding.

I’ve still got way too many tomato plants in the ground boxes full of knick-knacks that I just can’t seem to shake off despite several moves.  But I am determined to give away at least some of the clutter.

But don’t hold me to that.

There are baby robins tucked up in a little next built between the house and the porch light on the back deck so we have not yet been able to enjoy our deck this spring.  But they are a week and a few days old now and it’s amazing how rapid their growth is.

I took this a few days ago. They are much bigger now.

 All the mama robin does all day long is pop worms into their gaping maws.  It’s the cutest thing but poor Mama must be tired.  Actually, I can commiserate, though she doesn’t know it.

What else?

TREES!  Two fruit trees in and two on the way. I am going to have a delightfully cool and shady mini-orchard nook up and running in a few years!

So far, only a few bad things mar the perfection of this house:

A) The shiny, new, smooth-top stainless steel range only goes down to 170, thereby making it impossible to dehydrate and keep the enzymes alive, rending any raw food effectively cooked. Sigh.  Guess I need a dehydrator.

B)  I have to get into my stinkin’ car for every stinkin’ trip everywhere.  Sigh.  Guess I need to start bulking up on goods and get a playset and playhouse for my little one to play in.

C)  It’s not in Oregon.  Sigh.  Really?  If this house were in Oregon?  I could live here forever (as long as I had a dehydrator. And an electric car.)  I know, I know. But this post on Posie Gets Cozy just says it all. Particularly the part about getting a double Americano in the middle of the woods.  Oregonians are famous for their practicality.

Anyways, just thought I’d stop by to say hi and let you know the boxes haven’t QUITE gotten the best of me. Yet.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Jun 07, 2010 @ 16:11:17

    Bulk ordering…sounds like a co-op to me!

    Reply

  2. Sharon
    Jun 08, 2010 @ 13:46:06

    So glad you have a new yard, er, HOUSE. i may just have to come visit your “house.” But i agree, that Posie post makes a girl want to fly to the falls and never ever leave Oregon and the Columbia River again. sob.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

