Oreo cookie SUCCESS

A few days ago, I tried my hand at making these soaked whole wheat tortillas, which turned into a big time FAIL.   I couldn’t get the batter thin enough with it ripping to actually fry it.

BUT, tonight’s homemade Orea cookies were a SUCCESS and who need homemade tortillas, anyway? I’ll take oreo cookies over tortillas any day of the week.

Recipe from the delightful folks at the charming mag MaryJane’s Farm:

1.5 C flour (I used whole wheat pastry)
1/2 C unsweetend baking cocoa (I used carob powder)
1 t baking powder (aluminum free, natch)
1/4 t salt
1/2 c butter, softened
3/4 c sugar (I used sucanat)
2 eggs

1. oven at 350
2. mix all however you like best to mix; usually wet and dry and then both togeter
3. Roll dough on a floured counter to 3/16″ or the thickness you want for the cookies. Cut into the size circles your want for your cookies (they recommend 2″).  With pastry brush, dust off left-over flour from tops of cookies, then brush tops with warm water.
4. bake 15 mins.
5. fill with filling

Filling:

1/2 butter
1 T vanilla
2 T cream or milk
3 c powdered sugar

Gluten free version:

subsitute 2 c white rice flour and use 1.5 t baking powder.

These are yummy.  Go check out MJF for other fun projects and recipes. (that’s my plug so they don’t yell at me for using their recipe without asking :S)

Next up:  Their Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 06:40:34

    They look yummy! Maybe someday I’ll get to try one? (If I made them myself, I’d eat them all myself, so I can’t go there…)

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 08:44:34

    Oh my goodness! I definitely have to try these!

    Reply

  3. Cari
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 22:55:04

    Well done! I made a Christmas treat for neighbors this year that your recipe would work for – mix the equivalent of a package of Oreos with 8 oz of cream cheese, make into small balls and cover with almond bark – homemade truffles! The neighbors have already “asked” for them again next Christmas…

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Jun 24, 2010 @ 17:18:09

    I love the Mary Jane’s Farm magazine! And I long to go “glamping” at her place (glamour camping) because I think it’s not too far away from where I live. Wanna come with me? You bring the homemade oreos and I’ll bring me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

