Dowdy duty

Let’s face it.  Motherhood is not always kind to the self-image.

No time for regular haircuts, no reason to put on make-up, clothes worn more for expediency than for attractiveness, not to mention that they are most likely a) have stains or b) will have stains in the near future.

A tendency to be wider than once you were with arms that are distinctly larger and more dimpled.  Thighs: ditto.

And then there’s the state of tiredness and even apathy brought on by little time for one’s self that doesn’t somehow involve a) work or b) catching up on some chore or other as well as a constant repitition to the days that blur them together.

Finally, one’s brain has pretty much shut down. One is lucky to remember what the date is and that is mostly from checking the date of your recent email in the inbox.

What’s a girl to do?

the days of traveling the world, feeling engaged in a job that, while not exactly of earth-shaking importance, was at least interesting (sometimes. maybe. actually, the paycheck was MORE interesting, to be honest) and now one lacks the interest, motivation or know-how to move beyond a pony tail and one’s breastfeeding-inspired wardrobe; to wit, shirts from Goodwill that allow for easy access.

sigh.

Any recommendations?  I’m about due for my semi-annual haircut. I always say I’m going to get a new style but frankly, I know I won’t do anything requiring maintenance, upkeep, hair products or any other equipment than a comb.  Sweater weather is coming soon to hide my fat arms so yay!  But I’m seriously thinking about cleaning out my wardrobe, sending my stuff back to Goodwill from whence they came and starting over. Since I only wear about 3 shirts a week, it should cost too much, right?

Fight the frump?  I would if I could but I don’t know how!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Aug 17, 2010 @ 10:04:09

    I’m due for my semi-annual haircut at Great Clips, too. Just waiting for them to have another sale. I only know what the date is because I am forced to go to work every day to pay for my Starbucks habit. My wardrobe consists mostly of Goodwill treasures, but also a few things my children wore when they were in high school 25 years ago. I, too, shall be glad for long-sleeve weather to hide the wrinkled, flabby skin on arms and legs produced by 64 years of gravitational pull. I would like to tell you that “this, too, shall pass”, but, in all honesty, some things NEVER change! Sorry, Dear!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

