Fruits of Harvest

I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to get the canning thing going and with 27 tomato plants, I REALLY wanted it to happen.

Apparently, with the glasstop stove, some of them don’t get the water boiling hard enough to maintain a constant temperature, or something or other like that. I ordered a kit from Lehman’s dot com only to find that the graniteware pot isn’t recommended for smooth top stoves.  So then I went looking for a smooth bottomed stock pot that could hold quart size jars, only to find that it would be too large for the burner.

I have finally ended up buying more pint jars and am just going to can everything in those. It may take longer but in the longer run, we’ll have homemade tomato sauce this winter to enjoy in our chilis and spaghetti sauces!

I’m so glad I’ve learned to can. It’s so easy and so fun and it really gives a sense of acomplishment 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 14:39:06

    You will love seeing all those pretty jars lined up on your pantry shelves:)

    Reply

  2. Emily
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 21:40:09

    Yay! Good for you!!!

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Aug 28, 2010 @ 16:36:45

    So exciting! I can’t wait for the day when I can try that, too!

    Reply

  4. amberlina
    Sep 02, 2010 @ 10:46:31

    Well done!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

