Random

I’ve been trying to compose a coherent post for about an hour now and I feel like, bleh, not really worth it.

So here’s a brief run-down of the thots in my head right now:

1.I’m considering ingesting my placenta. Not MY placenta, actually, but my baby’s

 T didn’t want to start trying to have a baby until later in the summer because he said things would be too busy at work this time of year for him to get time off.  well. i didn’t want to wait since it took 6 months to get Miles started.  Turns out it took exactly 1/6 of that amount of time for me to get knocked up this time.  Also turns out that T wasn’t kidding about not getting time off.  Head-in-the-sand me thot SURELY he’d be able to get a week off or so but actually, no.  So unless Baby comes about 10 days post-due date, T’s not going to have a chance to be around.  So therefore I messed up big time.  And be it on my own head.  Actually, after a breather in March, he’ll be back to the grind until about May, so in fact there really wasn’t a perfect time for this birth. Unless it was before the beginning of this year. Which its too late to change now.

Along with that, I just remember being terribly depressed with Miles. And the thot of feeling that way again terrifies me, actually.  The PPD lasted the better part of a year and I really do NOT want to go there again, esp with T so busy with work.

So.

Enter the placenta.  APPARENTLY, the hormonal and whatever-else content of the placenta is something that helps both boost energy and alleviate PPD. Even if it doesn’t, what can it hurt to try?  It’s gotta be cheaper than therapy and much less tedious that someone calling Child Protective Services on you.  Every other live-birthing animal eats the placenta so it’s really just biological.

That said, yep, it sounds icky.  Enter encapsulation.  The placenta is steamed, dehydrated, powdered and put into capsule form. Then you take a couple a day as needed along with a healthy helping of chocolate.  Just kidding about the chocolate part. No, wait. I’m not.  BUT, its expensive to have done so it looks like I might actually have an excuse to buy a dehydrator and try to get to it myself, which I didn’t want to do, but money’s been flying out the window right and left lately, so if I want to actually try this, I’ll have to do it myself, I think.

Anyway, there you go. I might eat my placenta.

2. T’s been diagnosed with Celiac disease. If you don’t know what that means, its just basically that his body can’t tolerate gluten, which is found in wheat, rye and barley (and beer).  The gluten actually damages the GI tract and essentially the person with this ends up not being able to absorb nutrients. Kind of like a starvation of a kind.  Lots of celiac people have really severe reactions to gluten but T does not so it wasn’t on our radar. It’s not a terribly big deal but has involved changing over the flours I use in baking.  And, of course, the beer issue.  very, very sad.

3.  I buy good-quality, expensive eggs and it has galled me to have to use them in baking things like cookies or other unhealthy treats when they cost so much.  So I found out that a good egg replacer formula is this:

1 tbsp ground flax seed + 3 tbsp water = 1 egg

So there you go. Save your $4/doz free-range eggs for eating straight up and put flax in your brownies.  It’s a win-win situation.

4. That’s all really.  I know. Very random.  However, 7-layer brownies are calling my name and I must obey.

ttfn~~

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 20:46:21

    seven layer brownies? How can you possibly just say that like you’re talking about…the weather or something? Must.Have.Recipe!

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 14:31:28

    Seven Layer Brownie Bars

    1 stick butter, melted
    1 box brownie mix
    1 cup shredded coconut
    1 cup butterscotch chips
    1 cup chocolate chips
    1 cup chopped pecans
    14-oz can sweetened condensed milk

    Prheat oven to 350. Coat bottom of 13x9x2″ pan with melted butter. Sprinkle dry brownie mix over butter. Top with coconut, chips and pecans. Drizzle with condensed milk. Bake 30-35 min. or until edges are ubbly. Cool before cutting.

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 13:46:23

    EWWWW. However, if it helps then I guess it is worth it! I can deal with the idea of the powder form, but ever since I saw my friend’s frozen and then thawed placenta, I’m a bit grossed out about this post. HA!! B&I will try our best to keep your spirits up post-birth with multiple shipments of Italian chocolate and other fun treats. If we were closer, I’d be there to help…

    Thanks for the egg substitute – very helpful!

    Love ya!!

    Reply

  4. Sharon
    Jan 30, 2011 @ 21:56:22

    In case you develop some type of cocoa-resistance, have Rachel send me the Italian chocolate instead so it doesn’t go to waste. I remember in the 80s my mother-in-law trying to get me to take some placenta pills for some reason. I have no idea why. I love you and your non-mainstream ways. And we’ll all be here for you as you take life day by day after the birth of baby. Also, clearly I don’t believe in transitions between ideas in my comments. Sorry.

    Reply

  5. ~m
    Feb 17, 2011 @ 11:05:20

    LOL Chocolate will DEFINITELY help me get through 🙂 Sharon, I’ll keep you in mind as a back-up person if I need help with the chocolate. Here’s hoping I dont send you the placenta instead 😛 Maybe you should just come here and get some chocolate to avoid any mix-ups 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

