All I Have to Say is

It’s stinkin’ hot.

I’m melting over here.

Moving to Portland tomorrow.

Other news:

Had a baby.  At home.

You can just feel the empowerment, can’t you?  Gonna write more about that as soon as I get a moment in between:

child-minding

gardening

cooking (ok, not really. too hot. must just eat ice cream instead. also, bacon.)

gardening

obsessing about the garden

getting behind on the huge stack of books I ambitiously checked out from the library because I can’t seem to control my book-portions despite have about 2.4 nanoseconds per day to read.

Also, did I mention the garden.  We are on Round Two Final Chance Or You Are Becoming Grass-seeded Open Turf Again on the main flower bed for this year.

Ok, apparently I’m going to tell you all about this so:

It’s either been hot as blazes thereby shrivelling all my seedlings into crisp little nothings or

it’s been raining maelstroms and pounding both seeds and seedlings into the earth.

So last week I dug out all the weeds which flourishethed like the green bay tree, raked it all out and scattered the appropriate fast-growing annual seeds throughout. Hopefully they will bloom some color before it frosts, which with my luck will be on September 2 before it gets Blazing Hot again until November 22.

Hope to take pix soon because the veggies are doing pretty well including the volunteer pumpkin plant that seeded itself right up against the side of the fence around the deck and is now doing its best to take over the entire deck area. It is awesome.  Altho a little disturbing.

Now, it is stinking 83 degrees in the house despite have the thermostat set at 76 so I am going to go sweat some more, shower, sweat and try to read more.

Right now? I”m reading Love Wins by Rob Bell and I’m also going to talk about that, I guess, for a minute since we are doing stream-of-consciousness blogging right now:

This book is awesome and if you haven’t read it, you should.

Oh, that’s all, I guess.

I’ve also been reading Erik Larson and he also writes really good reads.

Now I’m going to either

a) stop and go shower

or

b) stop this post and write another one about how awesome my newest addition is

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 19:58:32

    Yes! Welcome back….I love reading your writings!

    Reply

  2. The Mom
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 20:08:46

    I just finished reading Love Wins and was going to bring it down to you this week! We will discuss it at length.

    Reply

  3. Sharon
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 10:11:21

    Welcome back…83 inside is hot. my parents set their AC at 83-84, one day at 85. THought i was going to die. Wishing you gardening delight and success.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

