Parenting From the Trenches

They tell me it gets better.

 

WHEN does it get better?

 

I don’t see it getting better.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Emily
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 20:01:23

    When does it get better? When you finally give up control; when you finally decide that you’re going to stop hoping it gets better and just go with the flow; when you realize that even on your worst days when you feel like the worst mother and that you’re damaging your kids, that you can redeem yourself tomorrow. Give yourself grace to walk this road. When you allow yourself to be gracious and patient with YOU, then the process doesn’t seem so daunting. You are a fabulous mama…don’t let anyone (or yourself) tell you differently.

    Reply

    • wordsfallfrommyeyes
      Sep 19, 2011 @ 05:43:22

      Emily said it pretty well, actually. It does get better, though I admit I went through some hell first, as was our story. DO hang in there. It’s worth it.

      Reply

    • ~m
      Oct 04, 2011 @ 12:15:20

      For the most part, I don’t control. I don’t micro-manage, I’m pretty go-with-the-flow on most things (you know, E). I guess I refer more to the constant wear and drain of the non-stop tantrums, the constant whine, the constant battles on the stuff that I actually DO have to require (like eating. not that I care if he eats. I just don’t want to be woken up in the middle of the night about it if he doesn’t). I know that it will end at some point, it’s just very, very wearying, very, very upsetting and you have to resist the urge to use physical force or scream or something like that.
      The state of chemical stress your body is under so frequently as a reaction is very hard to cope with.
      I know I’m preaching to the choir because I know you know what I’m talking about.
      Thanks for the encouragement. I don’t think I’m fabulous, esp with the older one. I am just kind of hanging on, white knuckled, hoping I just don’t do anything that requires CPS.
      And its not non-stop, I know that. But days on end, even just one day on end, can seem like it, you know?
      And all this is why God made chocolate.

      Reply

  2. The Mom
    Oct 10, 2011 @ 16:17:15

    And wine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

