Solidago

 

 

I’m lucky enough that a variety of solidago plants have cropped up here and there in my yard.

 

Solidago, from the Latin:  “to strengthen or make whole”

 

Medicinal properties: Anti-catarrhal, anti-inflammatory, anti-microbial, astringent, diaphoretic, carminative, diuretic.

 

Plus, “goldenrod”, that’s just a pretty name.  Everyone could use a little solidago.

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 11:12:22

    Have you found a resource that tells you how to process medicinal plants for your use? Some of my herb books tell me that this or that plant is good for such and such, but then it turns out that the way to ingest said properties is in essential oil form, and I do not have a home distillery nor the knowhow to do this with my plants with healing properties.

    Reply

  2. ~m
    Oct 01, 2012 @ 08:14:56

    I have a couple books and they mostly work with tinctures from the aerial parts or roots, so that works pretty well for me. I googled the goldenrod. I think maybe it was the dried root parts for this one? I can’t remember but there’s a lot of info online now. I just need to start drying roots at some point. Probably not for goldenrod but definitely echinacea and dandelion. I don’t have a good drying set up altho I did dry my chamomile from this spring and it’s so fragrant. I’m looking forward to making infusions from that this winter. It will taste like spring and my garden (I know you’re not a fan of infusions…nor am I ….but that will be fun)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

