Just Peachy

IMG_1886

We picked the last peach today.

I didn’t realize they would be gone so quickly. I left them on the tree as long as I could as if somehow they would miraculously be given extended life, go on for as long as I wanted.

I lost about half of the production to fruit drop. Animals got to them on the ground.

I thought there were more. I was going to bring the rest in today, put them in a bowl, savor them slowly.

There was one left when I went out into the misty, cool morning yard.

One.

Miles said, “Can I have it?”, never having wanted any that I offered before until now, until the last one.

We shared it, dripping, juicy, cool from the morning air, superlatively sweet, the last peach of August.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. The Mom
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 10:48:52

    But of course:( Glad your tree produced this year, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

